Find out More
Structure and membership
Chief Constables' Council
Governance and accountability
History and background
Frequently Asked Questions
Policies, procedures and complaints
Publication Scheme
Section 22a agreement
Delivery Plan
Accessibility statement for the National Police Chiefs’ Council (NPCC) website

History and background

The National Police Chiefs’ Council (NPCC) was formed on April 1 2015. It replaced the Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO), which previously provided national police coordination and leadership.

A body bringing together chief officers to share ideas and drive improvements in policing has existed since the origins of policing. ACPO was formed in 1948 and its structure and work developed in response to national policing needs.

In 2010, the Government announced a series of police reforms including local accountability through Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs), the creation of the National Crime Agency (NCA) and the College of Policing, a new professional body which took on responsibility for developing professional standards, guidance and training in policing.

In 2013, PCCs commissioned General Sir Nick Parker to review the service that ACPO provided and make recommendations about the requirements of a national policing body following the fundamental changes in policing.

In 2014, a group of chief officers and PCCs began working together to implement the Parker review’s recommendations and develop a modernised and simplified national body. Chief officers voted in support of the proposals developed by this group in July 2014. Chief Constable Sara Thornton was appointed to chair the NPCC on December 2 2014, and ACPO was closed down on March 31 2015.

Assistant Commissioner Martin Hewitt became chair on April 1 2019.