Find out More
Structure and membership
Chief Constables' Council
Governance and accountability
History and background
Frequently Asked Questions
Policies, procedures and complaints
Publication Scheme
Section 22a agreement
Delivery Plan
Accessibility statement for the National Police Chiefs’ Council (NPCC) website

NPCC Leadership


The NPCC membership elects a full-time Chair. Martin Hewitt is the current Chair of the National Police Chiefs' Council.

Martin Hewitt QPM
Chair of the National Police Chiefs' Council


Martin Hewitt is Chair of the National Police Chiefs’ Council (NPCC). He was appointed in April 2019. He began his policing career with Kent Police in 1993 and transferred to the Metropolitan Police Service in 2005.

As an Assistant Commissioner for five years, Martin led frontline and local policing, specialist crime and professional standards. He led the national police response to adult sexual offences and kidnap between 2014 and 2019, and served as a Vice-Chair for the NPCC from 2015 before taking on the chairmanship.

Vice Chairs

The NPCC Chair is supported by two Vice Chairs, each of whom conduct their NPCC role in addition to their full time operational role as Chief Constables. The Vice Chairs act as peer advisors and provide support to the Chair and deputise in their absence.

Michelle Skeer QPM
Chief Constable of Cumbria Constabulary

M Skeer_Pic.jpg








Michelle joined Cumbria Constabulary in February 1990 having completed a degree course in History and Media at Leeds. She performed a variety of uniform operational roles before moving into the criminal investigation department. Within the criminal investigation department Michelle held roles at every rank and led on both public protection and serious crime operations. In 2007 Michelle was appointed Director of Professional Standards for the Constabulary where she was responsible for Anti-Corruption, Public Complaints, Disclosure, Information Security and Data Protection issues.

Following successful completion of the National Strategic Command Course in 2009 Michelle applied for and was appointed to the position of Assistant Chief Constable in Cumbria taking responsibility for all operational policing matters. Michelle has led the Change Management Programme successfully delivering the significant required budget savings. Michelle performed the role of Gold commander during the floods of 2009. Michelle is the Chair of the Constabulary Valuing Individuals Group with a focus on internal issues.

Michelle is the National Police Chiefs' Council lead for the Management of Sexual Offenders and Violent Offenders, a role she is passionate about. This role requires close working with a number of different agencies including the National Offender Management Service (NOMS), Child Exploitation & Online Protection Centre (CEOP) and the Home Office.

Michelle received the Queens Policing Medal (QPM) for her distinguished service in the News Years honours list, December 2017.

She is married to a retired police officer, has three children and lives in Cumbria.

Dave Thompson QPM LLB (Hons)
Chief Constable of West Midlands Police


Dave Thompson joined Greater Manchester Police in 1990 after graduating in Law at Liverpool University.

During his career in Greater Manchester Police he served from Constable to Assistant Chief Constable. His career highlights included working on the Manchester Olympic bid and leading work on New Deal for East Manchester. He commanded the main policing operations for the 2002 Commonwealth Games at the City of Manchester Stadium including the opening and closing ceremonies. He was also Commander for central Manchester, policing the diverse committee of Moss Side and Longsight. As Assistant Chief Constable he led policing portfolios for Operations, Local Policing, Crime, Information Technology and Terrorism. At a national level he led the 2010 review of National Counter Terrorism Structures.

In 2010 Dave became Deputy Chief Constable for West Midlands Police and oversaw the force’s change programme and led national work on gangs and the criminal use of firearms.

In January 2016 he was appointed Chief Constable and sets the strategic direction for the force within the Police and Crime Commissioner’s Plan. He is committed to delivering a modern policing service that prevents crime, protects people and offers help to those in need. He leads on Finance for the National Police Chiefs’ Council and the Apollo programme within National Counter Terrorism Policing.

He is Chair of the Commonwealth Games 2022 Security Board and was appointed Vice Chair of the National Police Chiefs’ Council in 2019.

Dave was awarded the QPM in 2014 for services to policing.